Les Gorges du Nan

I’m going to keep the words to a minimum for this post, partly because it’s still hard to digest one of my most extraordinary days on a bike. 110 miles, 11,000ft of climbing, and some of the most amazing roads you’ll ever see.

The focus for me was the Gorges du Nan, a balcony road in north Vercors, of which I became aware about a year ago. I worked out a route I reckoned I could just about manage, and today was the day. Throw in Col de Rousset, the Goulets road down to Pont-en-Royans, and the climb to Presles, and one’s respect for the genius and madness of 19th-century road builders can only be undiminished, in their bid to open up Vercors to transport. Including bikes.

Suffice to say, I was happy to be on the safe side of the road away from the exposed side at Gorges du Nan, and rode very carefully even so! Absolutely stunning. The pictures give just part of the effect.

 


Leave a comment