Col de Mens (1117m)

Yet another “last col over 1000m within a day’s ride from Die”… if it is actually the last one for me to find, it’s a spectacular one to finish the list with.

The col de Mens is not a col you’ll find by accident, unless you’ve always wanted to go to Tréminis: even then, you’re more likely to follow the road up the Ebron rather than the road over the col. But what a treat the col is – you’d be mad to miss it.

Today I approached it from the Mens side, from which you get an early clear view of the col (I like a loop over col de Menée and back over col de Grimone), and that way you have a fairly gradual ascent of about 350m from Mens (pronounced, roughly as “Monse” but with a French nasal “en”), along the D216. Your ascent gives you stunning views of the Grande Tête de l’Obiou and the Dévoluy ridge that runs south from it.

If you approach from Tréminis, the ascent is short and sharp: in some ways, I think this might be the more satisfying way to do it, if you don’t mind short sharp ascents, as after the pretty col, you will be treated to the majesty of the scenery after, with a longer descent, and choice of coffee stops and restaurants in Mens.

Anyway, whichever way you do it, I can’t imagine you’ll be disappointed. It’s not a giant, I’ll grant you, but you’ll probably want to stop every few mintes for photos. I did, and most of them are here.


10 thoughts on “Col de Mens (1117m)

  1. Snap – nearly. I have a Moto E (I think!) so you are encouraging me to frame my shots better. Amazing what you get from a budget mobile.

    Like

Leave a comment