Vercors in November

​Unless you’re into suffering for your art (or pleasure), the Vercors plateau is somewhere to visit in nice weather – and when it is nice, it’s stunning.

I’ve been looking forward to seeing the whole area in its autumnal colours, but the cloudless skies today drew me upwards. I wasn’t disappointed. A 65-mile loop took me over col de Rousset, down to les Grands Goulets, and back to col de Rousset via la Chapelle and Vassieux. If I had to leave for England now, it would have been worth the journey. Fortunately I have five more days here.

Leave a Reply

