Au revoir, James

Yesterday was supposed to be an easier day after the 10,000ft of climbing of Col de la Bonette of Monday. But somehow we ended up doing 75 miles and the challenging Col de la Chaudière.

My excuse for not going with James this morning for a ride over Col de Rousset and Col de la Bataille was that I didn’t want to hold him up – though actually I just needed a properly easy day. Well, my legs (and the rest of me) are twice the age of James.

James has now left for a few days in the grown-up mountains around Alpe d’Huez. After he’d gone, with the temperature in direct sun at 49.9C, I did a gentle little bimble out to Menglon and Luc-en-Diois, in wonderful evening light.



 
 
 

Leave a Reply

