February cycling

It’s February half term, so here I am again. Unexpectedly I’m here solo, as sadly my brother wasn’t well enough to make the journey, so for the first time I’ve got a February week here and a bike to keep me out of mischief.

The weather clearly plays a factor – while club mates are heading south to places like Majorca, I’ve headed towards the ski resorts of the Alps. But Die’s microclimate has come into play. For instance, yesterday had 29 weather alerts for France – wind in the west and snow in the High Alps – we had a pleasant calm day here, with nice sunshine in the late afternoon.

That said, it’s not warm: the thermals are definitely on, and I’ll not be venturing up any big cols. But I’ve already been out for 45- and 25-mile rides to Mirabel and Recoubeau, and had a pleasant walk to Grand Justin. The forecast remains cool but dry, so I hope to make more amends for my lack of proper cycling in Devon so far this year.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

