Dodging the rain…

I guess that the weather is always likely to dominate my time here, given I come here to do stuff outside. As much as I love the house, it’s where it is that really makes it very special.

Well, after an autumn and early winter of mostly settled weather and plenty of sunshine, this week has certainly been changeable, and has required diligent study of the Meteociel forecasts to make the most of it. Having said that, even the worst day so far had time for a quick dash to Châtillon, and with a six-day total of 310 miles, I’m not going to complain. Especially after the atrocious weather we’ve been having in the UK since the start of November.

My rides have been unadventurous, though today’s 60-mile ride to Col de Cabre, at 1180m, was in response to my Exeter Wheelers friends chiding me for having posted a photo at a col less than 1000m. They are not easily impressed. I’d not normally venture to 1000m cols at this time of year, but with the snowline at something like 1800m at present, the salted D93 was a safe choice, this time.

The other photos are from a wet walk to the depleted Saturday market in Die – but even depleted, it furnished an excellent range of local produce… followed by the reward of a coffee and croissant at Banette, of course.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

