Autumn sunshine

Yesterday’s shortish ride was beautiful, under variable skies and watery sunshine, after a very misty start to the day. Today started bright and very cool (just 3.7C), so after a trip to the market to stock up on provisions (and to allow the sun to warm the air somewhat), a decent ride was called for, to see more of the wonderful autumnal colours. Today’s sunshine was utterly different: gone was the watery light, and in its place an intense clarity, which gave even more depth to the autumnal hues all around.

I’ll have to admit that the ride wasn’t quite as I had in my head: I’d got in my mind going over the Col de Prémol to La Charce, then over to Saoû for about a 70-mile ride. But I’d forgotten that to do that ride to Saoû means I have to go over the Col de La Chaudière, and to get there from La Charce would need longer than I had available today. So improvising a route, I turned right in La Motte Chalancon to go back via Chalancon and St-Nazaire-le-Désert, and what a treat that gave me. I’ve only done that road the other way, and it was every bit as enjoyable this way, and perhaps even more so with the lovely late afternoon autumnal light.

All in all, it was a great, albeit accidental route of 75 miles. It’s one I think I’ll be doing again.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

